Latest News




TULSA, Okla. (January 6, 2014) - There is no such thing as an easy night at the Chili Bowl. With 285 entries for the twenty-eight edition of the world's largest indoor Midget race, it's a sure bet that even the "E" Mains on Saturday will stack up like "A" Features anywhere else.

Among the list of 285 entries are 274 confirmed drivers of which 58 are past feature starters, 64 are Chili Bowl Rookies, and six who have already earned the coveted Golden Driller with each one looking for the advantage.

Being that the Tulsa Expo Raceway is ripped up, and rebuilt every year, that "hopeful" advantage comes, for some, in the form of the Speedway Motors Tulsa Shootout. Contested this past weekend, the lineup of 513 drivers showed 23 Chili Bowl entrants, including four-time and defending Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Champion, Kevin Swindell, who circled the Tulsa Expo Raceway 154 green-flag laps after competing in four divisions of Micro Sprint Cars.

Looking to even out to around 70 drivers per night, the breakdown of drivers per night is listed at the following:

Warren CAT Tuesday Night Qualifier -

River Spirit Casino Wednesday Night Qualifier -

John Christner Trucking Thursday Night Qualifier -

Vacuworx Global Friday Night Qualifier -

Nightly breakdowns are subject to change without notice.

The 28th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will begin moving teams in on Sunday, January 12, 2014.

Practice is scheduled for Monday, January 13 with the first night of competition getting underway with Tuesday's Warren CAT Qualifying night as well as the sixth annual Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions.

Competition continues with Wednesday's River Spirit Casino Qualifier, Thursday's John Christner Trucking Qualifier, and Friday Vacuworx Global Qualifier with everything culminating on Saturday's Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Championship.

The top three in each Qualifying Night A-Feature will transfer directly into the Saturday championship event with the remainder of Saturday's features lined up according to the Qualifying night finishes.

General Admission seating is available along the back straight-a-way and can be accessed with the purchase of a Pit Pass. Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire can be found online at For more updates follow the Chili Bowl on Facebook and on Twitter.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire - Quick Facts:

What: 28th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – quarter-mile clay oval inside the River Spirit Expo Center at Tulsa's Expo Square

When: January 14-18, 2014

Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx Global Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events


Races Tuesday-Friday begin at 6:00 P.M.. Grandstands open at 3:00 P.M. (CT)

Saturday begins at Noon. Opening Ceremonies following qualifiers is at 6:00 P.M. Grandstands open at 9:00 A.M.

Chili Bowl Champions: Kevin Swindell (2013, 2012, 2011, and 2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), John Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

VIROC Champions: Kevin Swindell (2013), Sammy Swindell (2012, 2011, and 2009), Brad Loyet (2010)

Past "A" Feature Starters: Sammy Swindell 20, Jerry Coons, Jr. 14, Dave Darland 13, Tracy Hines 12, Cory Kruseman 12, Kevin Olson 10, Brad Kuhn 8, Shane Cottle 8, J.J. Yeley 7, Jon Stanbrough 6, Kasey Kahne 6, P.J Jones 6, Bobby East 5, Matt Westfall 5, Steve Buckwalter 5, Kevin Swindell 5,Damion Gardner 5, Casey Shuman 4, Bryan Clauson 4, Davey Ray 4, Tim McCreadie 4, Michael Pickens 4, Chris Windom 3, Brad Loyet 3, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 3, Thomas Meseraull 3, Daryn Pittman 3, Shane Golobic 3, Danny Stratton 3, Kyle Larson 3, Jac Haudenschild 3, Mike Hess 3, Gary Taylor 2, Chad Boat 2, Don Droud, Jr. 2, Nick Knepper 2, Zach Daum 2, Jonathan Beason 2, Darren Hagen 2, Billy Wease 2, A.J. Fike 2, Brady Bacon 2, Tony Roney, Andrew Felker, Brandon Waelti, Daniel Adler, Shane Hollingsworth, Paul White, Kevin Thomas, Jr., David Gough, Caleb Armstrong, Richard Vander Weerd, Mike Goodman, Mike Spencer, Rico Abreu, Brent Beauchamp

Counties Represented: Australia, Canada, New Zealand, United States

United State Count: Oklahoma 45, Indiana 43, California 37, Illinois 29, Texas 15, Missouri 13, Pennsylvania 12, Kansas 11, Arizona 9, Ohio 6, Nebraska 5, Arkansas 5, Colorado 4, Delaware 3, Iowa 3, North Carolina 3, South Dakota 3, Washington 3, Wisconsin 3, Wyoming 3, New York 2, North Dakota 2, Tennessee 2, Alabama, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico

Trade Show: A long standing tradition at the Chili Bowl, the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday), is free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 vendors. The Trade Show still has space available. Anyone looking to be a part of the Trade Show can contact the Chili Bowl office at 918-838-3777. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Chili Bowl Online: All official news regarding the 28th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl National presented by General Tire can be found at Updates throughout the Chili Bowl can be found via Facebook and Twitter at and

Event Coverage: For the first time, the Chili Bowl will be show online on The online PPV experience will run from Tuesday through Saturday's qualifiers. At time of opening ceremonies on Saturday, Racinboys PPV coverage will cease as final features will be shown live on MAVTV American Real for the first time. For a complete listing of channels, and to request MAVTV, log onto

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. More information about the products available from Lucas Oil can be found at General Tire is the presenting sponsor of the Chili Bowl. A complete inventory of tires offered by General Tire can be found at

Vacuworx Global is the title sponsor of the VIROC which brings past Chili Bowl Champions as well as champions from around the world together for a single 20 lap race to see who is the best of the best. For more information about Vacuworx log onto For more information on past champions of the VIROC, log onto

For more information on the Chili Bowl log onto or call 918-838-3777.